Wait till I’m 40

Daily Prompt: All Grown Up
by michelle w. on March 6, 2013

When was the first time you really felt like a grown up (if ever)?

Many times I heard of this adage, “Life begins at 40.” So I guess, I have to wait for 8 years when I could really say, “Hey! Look at me, I’m all grown up.” And perhaps because I have 3 kids whom I still want to play hide and seeks and play pretends with most of the times, that’s why I never wanted to act like am all grown up.
bday1This is me with my youthful pose when I turned 32 last January 27.

bday2This is my birthday cake with a childish theme that shows I never wanna grow old. :-)I designed it myself.

What succumbs me to act maturely are the times when I met hardships in life. In major decision-making I must face it like all grown up. The first time I was faced to a tough make or break decision was the moment I conceived my first child. I was a graduating student in college at that time, January of 2003. It has a long story if I narrate everything. The bottom line is I overcame the adversities that time and made a decision in a grown up manner – I never resorted to abortion. I value life, I’m not anti creation. And that very moment I learned about the life evolving inside me, I said to myself I have to bring this out and let him/her breath the world. Like the seed it needs to grow and bear flowers/fruits. Who knows what’s this little life be up to when it matures? Only time can tell. He is now 8 years old, he excelled in school and draws/sketch very well. Something I’m proud of and never regretted.

Last Sunday my brother came home and reviewed the movie Lord of the Rings-The Fellowship of the Ring with my kids. As I busied watching over my 1 year-old daughter roamed around the living room, I overheard Gandalf the Grey said, “So do all who live to see such times, but that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.” Lightbulb! I made the right decision and it somehow made me felt like I was all grown up back then when I was 22.

All photo credits to Janrey Sarino

What's your opinion?

