“I Wish the Ring had Never Come to Me.”

Daily Prompt: Silver Screen
by michelle w. on March 13, 2013

Take a quote from your favorite movie — there’s the title of your post. Now, write!

Frodo: “I wish the ring had never come to me. I wish none of this had happened.”

Among the many lines uttered in this famous adventure and fantasy movie The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring. that line that Frodo uttered has captivated me most. I’m pretty sure all of us had the chance to see such wonderful movie. But for the benefit of those who didn’t, here is a storyline. Or else, just simply set back, relax, enjoy and take time to watch this on wide-screen. I’m sure 4 hours of viewing is worth the watch. 🙂

Photo courtesy of www.viz4u.net

Photo courtesy of http://www.viz4u.net

Storyline

An ancient Ring thought lost for centuries has been found, and through a strange twist in fate has been given to a small Hobbit named Frodo. When Gandalf discovers the Ring is in fact the One Ring of the Dark Lord Sauron, Frodo must make an epic quest to the Cracks of Doom in order to destroy it! However he does not go alone. He is joined by Gandalf, Legolas the elf, Gimli the Dwarf, Aragorn, Boromir and his three Hobbit friends Merry, Pippin and Samwise. Through mountains, snow, darkness, forests, rivers and plains, facing evil and danger at every corner the Fellowship of the Ring must go. Their quest to destroy the One Ring is the only hope for the end of the Dark Lords reign! Written by Paul Twomey

After this meek Hobbit named Frodo set out on a journey with his 8 fellowship, something went wrong along the way. They met lots of struggles that made Frodo’s heart-broken and loathed the ring saying “I wish the ring had never come to me. I wish none of this had happened.”

In that particular point in time that I heard Frodo, I was relieved that I was not alone in the world. That somehow what could happen in movies could also happen in real life. Which I always experience in most movies I have watched. I even cried along with some of the movies characters. I often got sentimental, maybe because of the fact that I have the same experience with the characters. I really hate it how I got too marshy. I don’t know and not sure for some, but for me it does. It’s not that I’m remorseful of my present state in life but at least it has given me strength to go on with life’s journey as what Frodo did in this movie. Just how fascinating good movies can made sense to our lives and moved us.

I can’t deny myself of the many adversities that life has offered. But I’m still grateful that every morning I’m able to wake up with ease and smile to the rising sun. That I’m never alone because at times, I’m awaken by my childen’s voices. Sometimes, by my 8-year-old son asking what he’s going to wear in school on a “washday”. 🙂 (He can already managed to dress in school uniform alone.) That I don’t have cool amount of money, but luckily am not lying hopelessly on hospital’s bed waiting in vain for days and taking various pills. That I don’t dwell and live in a luxurious life in a mansion but am not found in the sidewalk with no food to eat. That like Frodo who has a loyal friend Samwise Gamgee along his journey, I also have loved ones who are always by my side to give me strength and support.

Oftentimes, we think life is too harsh especially when we are faced with trials. But we just fail to see the brighter side of it all. Yes, it is easier said than done. But just take time to meditate and be considerate of the simplest things that you have in your life and from that you will learn and be amazed how fortunate you are. We must remember this – “Happiness will never come to those who don’t appreciate what they already have.”

And as what Gandalf the Grey answered Frodo’s musing, “So do all who live to see such times, but that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.” and as mentioned earlier in my older post. It all really depends on our decisionS after all life is a matter of choice. Most of the times, we get so indecisive, because we are not certain of what lies ahead. We are overcome by our fears of the unknown. We tend to forget that there is God, who is all-knowing and almighty. If we could just simply put our trust to Him and to ourselves, then we can hit that single courage to cast all fears away and go on with our journey. God will never give us trials and challenges that is beyond our capacity. I believe He only gives us that which is enough for each one of us to bear and struggle. In addition to that, this is what Galadriel (another character in this movie) has to say, “Even the smallest person can change the course of the future.”

This is really an eye-opener for me and perhaps for all of us. So as when time comes that we find ourselves in times of distress and pain and being belittled, let’s just think of the the movie and recall how just like Frodo,we have to decide for ourselves. And that decision is NEVER to give up with the task. Frodo is only a meek hobbit but saved many people from the Dark Lord’s reign. Yet, who knows? Tomorrow perhaps in our own little way we can save someone’s day!

What's your opinion?

