About the “Hot Stuff”

Daily Prompt: Bone of Contention

by michelle w. on March 17, 2013

Pick a contentious issue about which you care deeply — it could be the same-sex marriage debate, or just a disagreement you’re having with a friend. Write a post defending the opposite position, and then reflect on what it was like to do that.

Last 2008 the massive and inevitable global recession had affected enormously the business market here in the Philippines and worldwide. Many business firms especially those located in the Mactan Export Processing Zone had undergone closure. And many Pilipino workers became jobless. Some stayed at home unemployed while scouting for a new job, some resort to look for a greener pasture abroad and some started up micro businesses using the compensation from the company.

One of these firms that had been greatly affected, is the company where my husband works at. It’s an American manufacturing firm. As an aftermath of the recession their company issued a workforce reduction program, wherein all employees are invited to cast their voluntary effort to be paid by the company and be dismissed from the job. But if there are no responses from the employees the company’s human resource personnel will pick out the employees to be dismissed by way of deliberating their work performance and length of service.

Fortunately, my husband was not discharged and it is a blessing to us since he is our only breadwinner. I devoted myself to the household management and welfare of our kids so it is expected that my husband’s salary is only tantamount to our basic expenses. Not bad after all, we are still able to go on with our day-to-day living. I prefer simple living and contentedly accepting God’s bounty. I believe when my kids get older, I can already start to seek for additional income to equate my husband’s earning so that he can breathe and loosen a little from his strife.

At the onset of the company’s announcement he became indecisive because of the fact that job opportunity here in the Philippines is not that easy to acquire. So he pinned down his decision not to avail of the WRP. And the news about my 2nd pregnancy broke out along the way, even if I would want it I could not get myself a job yet. So every now and then we prayed that the company will remain stable since our children are growing fast and an increase demand of food and clothing is highly expected.

But unfortunately, our prayers were not heard. Last year rumors spread that a closure of the company is apparent and it was confirmed by its official press release stating that closure will take effect come 2015. This became a horror scene in our household. My husband started to worry more and most likely me since I have just given birth to my 3rd child, the bitter truth that I concealed in my previous post entitled Bittersweet Truth Behind An Angel Smile, now revealed. 😉 It is so dismaying in my part since I could not help my husband in earning an income again when it is really most needed this time.

From then on, money has always been the issue of our misunderstandings. Although my husband won’t show it, but at times I can read between the lines that he wanted me to step out of the house and find something for a living. More often than not, it is so disgusting that our arguments triggered by the issue of money. And with that, I had proven to myself that money is really hot and needed. I’m not saying I don’t need money. It is essential I know, but the fact that it always stirred up and ignited the both of us to aflame in dispute is the most ridiculous part and a very flimsy reason.

ImagePhoto courtesy of the net.

Perhaps because of the tough fact that my husband is facing, that’s why he is at times agitated and that as a wife I have to understand his disposition. That’s what we wife always do but sometimes I got annoyed because every time we are discussing something, financial issue boils down to an argument. And this had been an issue so long time ago that has not been resolved.

So right now, I am painstakingly working my ass in front of this so-called laptop seeking for online jobs. But nothing has come along the way yet so I seldom switch to blogging and some social networking. There are lots of ads about working online and earning a huge amount of money but then again it will require this “hot stuff” money to jumpstart the job. Hopefully along the way, God will guide me find that job that would end up the bone of contention between me and my husband.

 

2 Comments

  1. Annie's Place

    I think it is terrible the way the big corporations treat people around the world.

    • That’s why it’s more convenient to do own business rather than be employed, I think. 😉

What's your opinion?

