D – Z of Growing Old – For the Old but Bold

This week’s A WORD A WEEK CHALLENGE is OLD.

I’m just being curious what come to others minds when they hear the word OLD. As for me, hearing this word would bring me to thinking about the old age, old places, old things and basically the “old schools” of just about anything.

And the moment I am notified about this week’s word challenge, I suddenly think that I am way too old for this weekly challenge that I always misses it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ A sign of old age or merely because my mind is too preoccupied. Mind you last two weeks ago I was so knackered, my 3 kids got fever simultaneously within a very tight budget. It really took a job for a supermom to spend wisely the dough. Anyhow, I’m back to this challenge, attempting once again.

For my post, I’m going to feature some of my older brother’s amateur photography. But before revealing the photos, I’m going to show something first, that might be helpful for some of us – the old and aged becoming. You will find this interesting if you considered yourself one, tho. ๐Ÿ˜‰

It’s the A-Z of Growing Old. A magazine clipping that I have kept in my decade-old trunk and because of its oldness, I can’t remember why I had lost the A-C part. Nevertheless, the D-Z part still made sense, especially to those who don’t want to spend a lot of money for ant-aging. Better take a note, for when being old will take its toll in some years to come. ๐Ÿ˜‰

D – Z of OLD AGE

D – Dream on. At an old age we can still dream of better things to come.

E – Examine your demands on others. We can give up some of them. Also express gratitude to those who helped us.

F – Focus your mind on things that are beautiful and heart-warming. Let’s forget grudges against anyone and free ourselves from envy.

G – Grow old gracefully. If we give ourselves to others and live lines that are blessing to them it will reflect back on us.

H – Help someone figure out a solution to his problem and not give unsolicited advice.

I – Improve your memory to keep it active. Write memos and check what you have missed from memory. Do crossword puzzles, play chess or Scrabble.

J – Join a gathering of friends once in a while. We can keep track of current events and history.

K – Keep confidences. Be sure to honor the ones who confided in you because they believes in our trustworthiness.

L – Look for something beautiful in a person everyday. Lighten up and see the funny side of an unpleasant situation.

M – Mail (eMail) an unexpected letter to distant friends. It will give them a pleasant surprise.

N – Nourish your body and mind with good and nutritious food. Remember the adage about a sound mind in a sound body.

O – Organize your life. Let’s have a place for everything.

P – Pass on some good news. There are all kinds of news but pick up only the best ones that others may be blessed.

Q – Quiet your heart if you hear bad news. We can be healthier if we keep up our composure.

R – Remember the blessings you enjoy each day and give thanks to the Lord for them.

S – Simplify your life. Live in such a way that you are not bothered by the frenzy of the modern life. Now you can relax and let the world go by.

T – Take a quiet walk regularly. It is best to do it very early in the morning or evening. It gives us the chance to appreciate nature at its best.

U – Understand the people around you. We may misjudge them so let us suspend judgment on anyone.

V – Value your worthy principles. As we practice them daily they may be the legacy we can leave behind us.

W – Whistle when you are feeling down. Or hum a tune if you can’t whistle. Or just wave a smile on someone.

X – Xpect the unexpected. Oftentimes situations come our way for which we are unprepared. But if we have somehow expected them we can be serene.

Y – Yield with grace. When things don’t turn out the way we want them to, there’s no use making a fuss.

Z – Zoom up on eagle’s wings. At old age, it is unlikely metaphor but figuratively we can rise up and soar like the eagle.

I hope these tips will help us to age in beauty. Even if we grow old yet we feel bold.ย  If ever you feel there’s really lacking, please do me a favor ofย  supplying the missing A – C. I would be glad and thankful if I will hear responses.

Anyways, here are some of the photos for the word old. These were taken just nearly a-year-ago, but the subjects are more than centuries old.

In this photo is the statue of Dr. Jose Rizal ( Philippine's National Hero) located at the heart of our town's municipal plaza. Right behind is the St. Michael the Archangel Church founded on October 16, 1733 and was constructed by Fr. Mateo Perez from 1803 to 1836.

In this photo is the statue of Dr. Jose Rizal ( Philippine’s National Hero) located at the heart of our town’s municipal plaza. Right behind is the St. Michael the Archangel Church founded on October 16, 1733 and was constructed by Fr. Mateo Perez from 1803 to 1836.

I was astounded by this photo of an old woman looking for a comfortable seat in the plaza. In her right side is the new and old municipal hall which was built during the Spanish colonial-era. I just love how my older brother played with the photo editing -  the effect jived with the old subjects.

I was astounded by this photo of an old woman looking for a comfortable seat in the plaza. In her right side is the new and old municipal hall which was built during the Spanish colonial-era. I just love how my older brother played with the photo editing – the effect jived with the old subjects.

I believed this lamp post could be a part of the Spanish colonial-era architecture.

I believed this lamp post could be a part of the Spanish colonial-era architecture.

3 Comments

  1. Congratulations on your award! Go to http://patinspire.org/2013/04/12/liebster-award/

    • Thank you Pat for considering my blog in this inspiring award. ๐Ÿ™‚

What's your opinion?

