Great Things Start From Small Beginnings

I had been writing about volunteering abroad works for a certain travel agency which name I can’t disclose here. Actually, this is the first decent job I had after signing up with Odesk.com being a freelance writer and as part of my online journey to financial freedom. I had been hired for the job since June of this year and I’m grateful that this had been a long-term job. I am writing for 6 months now and it somehow made a great impact to my life as it drove me to appreciate the beauty and spirit of engaging in volunteering works and simply giving back to a certain part of the world where people are less fortunate and living in strife. It even aspires me to volunteer abroad one of these years or perhaps one of these days. 😉 I know, this is a shoot for the star as the cost of airfare alone seems hefty for me and travelling itself is not in my bucket list of day-to-day activities, not even in my wildest dreams and not even once in my fancy. But not until bit by bit I have learned and understood a little about volunteering abroad, since then I had been inspired about taking my turn being a “good doer”.

The prerequisites for volunteering abroad are immense and I have to consider plenty of things such as my health, motivation and mindset, the time I can commit as well as my financial capacity. Yet, I’m not putting an off to this option. Who knows, one day I’ll wake up saying good morning and embracing African children while sniffing the African air and got mesmerized by African jungle and sky. And as the famous oldie song goes, “This is my quest to follow the star no matter how hopeless, no matter how far…”, so there is still a fat chance for me to realize this impossible dream. 😉

There is an adage that says great things start from small beginnings, same is true with the journey of a thousand miles that must begin with a single step. No wonder a simple guide for aspiring international volunteers suggests that to achieve a successful volunteering abroad endeavor, one must begin a volunteering journey from one’s own local community. I’m glad that with ample chances and perfect timing I have commenced my baby step towards volunteering abroad through participating in a community outreach program initiated by my former grade school classmate, Ronald Marzon here in Balisong, Argao, Cebu, Philippines.

Our first outreach program kicks off in an indigent community from one of the mountain baranggays located in the outskirts of our town. The place is called Candolonon, which consists of more or less 20 households and has a population of no more than 300 individuals including children. They lack electricity or power lines and their source of potable water is situated couple of kilometers away from the community. They make use of rain water or some times water from banana sap. The young children have to walk an hour and a half just to arrive in school on daily basis. Some even opt to stop schooling.

In this post I’m going to share some of the photos that are worth a thousand words. I am grateful to share my time in this outreach program and somehow helped in making someone smile, despite life’s adversity and being away from civilization.

The first community where we commenced our first outreach mission.

The first community where we commenced our first outreach mission.

A few of the children who will benefit from our mission.

A few of the children who will benefit from our mission.

The do-gooders of the outreach mission.

The do-gooders of the outreach mission.

Children are enjoying the balloon relay initiated by one of the volunteers.

Children are enjoying the balloon relay initiated by one of the volunteers.

Appreciating the participation of 2 Japanese ESL students of Ronald Marzon.

Appreciating the participation of 2 Japanese ESL students of my friend Ronald Marzon.

Presents were simply wrapped with old newspaper sheets but were heartily given.

Presents were simply wrapped with old newspaper sheets but were heartily given.

It's not only the children who received gifts, grown ups too had their share.

It’s not only the children who received gifts, grown ups too had their share.

We are able to bring simple foods as it takes an hour to get here and the hilly roads are steep, tho we managed to transport this "flavor-of-the-road" ice cream to let the children experience this street food that are not often seen here.

We are able to bring simple foods as it takes an hour to get here and the hilly roads are steep, tho we managed to transport this “flavor-of-the-road” ice cream to let the children experience this street food that are not often seen here.

Though what we have done is only a little and simple thing but we are glad that we have somehow share a portion of our blessings. Big things starts from small beginnings they say. Looking forward for the next community outreach mission. God permits!

Though what we have done is only a little and simple thing but we are glad that we have somehow share portion of our blessings. Big things start from small beginnings they say. Looking forward to the next community outreach mission. God permits!

2 Comments

  1. ronald

    This is worth to remember for a lifetime.

  2. The things you need to get done first are listed first. A groom may be
    a good place to start, would you agree. First,
    you will give yourself plenty of time to make sure you select the right planner for you.

What's your opinion?

