New Year, New Recipe!

It’s a common problem to us moms to have picky eaters. As with my 3 kids, I have been to hell and back when it comes to feeding them. Moms, you know what I mean.

One time I have attended a gathering and one food preparation caught my very eyes. But not only my bare eyes, because when I tasted it something’s tickled my palate and I was pretty sure then that this food is going to delight my kids. And since I love to cook and prepare food for them, my inquisitive self never let the chances pass without ever knowing this recipe. I did succeed and had my first try. It was a great success I can say because my eldest son after taking his first bite, the first word he uttered was “lami” (delicious). His younger brother even asked me to make more the next day. šŸ˜‰

And because I understand how hard it is for us moms to get our kids into eating, so here, I am sharing to you my new discovery for this new year. Moms, I introduce to you New York Sandwich Roll!!! It Ā could be a great afternoon snacks for kids and you can as well include it to any of your celebration or get-together menu especially this new year’s eve.

New York Sandwich RollĀ NY9

What you will need:

1 loaf of sliced bread (I prefer Gardenia. Aside from being tasty, its slices are bigger)

Cheese (Cut into strips)

10-15 pieces of sliced sweet ham (Cut into half)

Classic Hotdogs (Cut into strips)

2 pieces eggs

Raisins

100 grams Bread Crumbs

1/2 cup condensed milk mixed with 2 tbsp mayonnaise

oil for deep-frying

rolling-pin

skillet or frying pan

paper towels

thongs

Here’s how I do it:

1. First, I sliced off each side of the bread (the brown part). After that I flattened each sliced of bread using an improvised rolling-pin. I say, improvised because I was unpreparedĀ then when I first made my first try and also because I don’t have rolling-pin yet in my kitchen. So, I made use of the empty wine glass. šŸ˜‰ Of course, I made sure it’s 100% free of germs.

NY1 NY3

2. Next, I spread evenly and thinly a little amount of the condensed and mayonnaise mixture on top of the flattened sliced bread. Then, I arranged 1 slice of ham, cheese and hotdog as well as pieces of raisins on the lower partĀ of the bread. After that, I rolled the bread and made sure that the condensed milk and mayonnaise mixture is sticky enough to hold the bread. (You can use a toothpick if you don’t prefer the mixture. But it can add flavor to it, mind you). Set aside.

NY4

NY53. In a separate bowl, I beat 2 pieces of whole fresh eggs. I made sure that the bowl is fit enough to dip the rolls I made. After dipping each roll in the beaten egg, I rolled them evenly in the bread crumbs. Then, set aside again.

NY6

NY74. Next, I set the frying pan in a stove and poured in the cooking oil enough for deep-frying. Once the oil heated up, I then begun frying the New York sandwich rolls in medium heat for about a minute or until it turned golden brownish. To steer clear of burns, I used thongs. AfterĀ done with frying, I laid them on paper towels to drip off excess oil. When I’m done frying all the rolls, I sliced them into half. And to make it look a littleĀ nicer I cut them diagonally, so the ham, cheese, hotdog and raisins inside could beĀ seen. That would make it more deliciously appealing to kids.NY10

There you have it Moms. The New York Sandwich Rolls. Something that your kids will surely love and can’t simply turn down because of its truly great taste. You can also add pineapple tidbits and some veggies such as lettuce, cucumber and tomatoes. Just be sure that your kids love veggies so they will enjoy more the twist. It really depends on you moms how you will improvise this recipe. Just don’t forget to prepare it with tender loving care. šŸ˜‰

Happy New Year! Happy New Recipe! šŸ˜‰

 

 

 

 

 

What's your opinion?